Skip navigation

I am glad that I began this ring two weeks ago because I have been down with the flu for a few days.  Here is my third ring for the ring a week flickr group.  It was constructed entirely from copper clay.  The band is scallopped and has a vine with leaves and tiny balls adorning it.  The central item is a large heavily textured leaf shape.  This ring is minimally finished.  I buffed off the somewhat strange colored kiln patina using a fine buffing wheel on my dremel.  The patina was sort of a dark purple.  The effect is not a lot different than a liver of sulfur patina so I will leave it.  I am still thinking about making it a little shinier.  I may live with it here on my desk for a few days to decide.  This ring was a learning experience with lot’s of joining and reinforcing.  I am very pleased with the result.  I would make another all copper ring this way again.  This ring also confirms my changes to my firing plan for copper.

 

Leave a Reply

